The European Union Agreement on Travel: What it Means for You

If you`re planning to travel to any of the 27 countries within the European Union (EU), you may want to familiarize yourself with the EU Agreement on Travel. This agreement, also known as the Schengen Agreement, governs the rules and regulations surrounding travel within the EU.

What is the EU Agreement on Travel?

The EU Agreement on Travel, signed in 1985, established the Schengen Area, a group of countries within the EU that have abolished internal borders. Essentially, this means that citizens of the Schengen Area countries can travel freely throughout the region without the need for border checks.

The Schengen Area includes 22 EU countries (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden) as well as four non-EU countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland).

What Does This Mean for Travelers?

For travelers within the Schengen Area, the EU Agreement on Travel means that you can move freely between countries without having to worry about passport checks or other border formalities. This makes travel within the Schengen Area much easier and more convenient.

However, it`s important to note that the EU Agreement on Travel does not eliminate all travel restrictions. For example, travelers from certain countries may still need to obtain a visa in order to enter the Schengen Area. Additionally, there may be other requirements, such as health checks or proof of travel insurance, that you need to meet in order to enter certain countries.

It`s always a good idea to research the specific requirements for each country you plan to visit before your trip. You can typically find this information on the website of the country`s embassy or consulate.

How Does This Affect Brexit?

With the United Kingdom`s decision to leave the EU, many people have wondered how this will affect travel within the Schengen Area. The short answer is that it shouldn`t have too much of an impact.

While the UK was never part of the Schengen Area, it did benefit from the EU Agreement on Travel in that UK citizens could travel freely within the Schengen Area. If you`re a UK citizen and planning to travel to the EU after Brexit, you may need to obtain a visa or other documentation, depending on the outcome of negotiations between the UK and the EU.

In conclusion, the EU Agreement on Travel has made travel within the Schengen Area much easier and more convenient for citizens of member countries. While there may still be some restrictions in place, the benefits of the agreement are clear. If you`re planning to travel within the EU, be sure to research the specific requirements of each country before your trip.